Who was the first BCCI president?

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is one of the oldest cricket boards in the world.

Formed in 1928, BCCI was registered in Tamil Nadu first, under the Societies Act. The current headquarters of BCCI are in Wankhede, Mumbai. BCCI has celebrated some glorious years in cricket history and has become one of the richest cricket boards in the world.

BCCI has seen many presidents and secretaries taking charge at high positions in the company. However, not many know who was the first president of BCCI.

Who was the first BCCI president? 1
Credits : Rediff

First President of BCCI

Grant Govan became the first president of BCCI in 1928, with Anthony de Mello taking charge as the secretary. BCCI is affiliated to the International Cricket Council (ICC), and is often termed as one of the big 3 boards of Cricket.

The current president of BCCI is Sourav Ganguly, while the vice president is Mahim Verma.

Here is the complete list of all the presidents of BCCI history after 2000:

1. Jagmohan Dalmiya

2. Ranbir Singh

3. Sharad Pawar

4. Shashank Manohar

5. N. Srinavasan

6. Shivlal Yadav

7. Sunil Gavaskar

8. Anurag Thakur

9. C.K Khanna

10. Sourav Ganguly

Hence, the history of BCCI’s Presidents can be traced back right from 1928, when BCCI was formed.

BCCI’s current president, Sourav Ganguly may get to complete the 6 year term rather than 9 months. This may be a great boost to BCCI & Ganguly. Sourav Ganguly may stay as BCCI president.

Sourav Ganguly has been known to play a pivotal role in Indian Cricket for years. He is termed as one of the majors who transformed the Indian Cricket Team. If Sourav Ganguly stays as the BCCI president, it is meant to give good results.