Which teams will play in the new club world cup?

Which teams will play in the new club world cup? We find out here in this article.

Gianni Infantino, the president of FIFA, stated the updated format for the FIFA Club World Cup starting in 2025 during a news conference on Friday, two days before Argentina vs France World Cup final in Qatar in his remarks. The competition is also expected to grow significantly after that year. The 2022 Club World Cup, the addition of fresh competitions for women’s soccer, and alterations to the international football calendar were other topics of discussion by the Swiss. For this reason, let’s take a look at Which teams will play in the new club world cup?

Which teams will play in the new club world cup?
Which teams will play in the new club world cup?

Which teams will play in the new club world cup? & Preview

The new Club World Cup idea was originally scheduled to begin in China in 2021 with 24 teams but was postponed due to the covid pandemic. It is now expected to grow even more starting in June 2025. At the expanded 48-team World Cup in four years, the present system, in effect since 1998, in which 32 teams are divided up into eight groups of four, is also expected to change. The FIFA Council decided in 2017 to divide the nations into 16 groups of three.

Seven clubs representing six different confederations compete in the FIFA Club World Cup under the current format. They comprise:-

  1. The UEFA Champions League winners (Europe)
  2. The Copa Libertadores winners (South America)
  3. The AFC Champions League winners (Asia)
  4. The CAF Champions League winners (Africa)
  5. The CONCACAF Champions League winners (North America, Central America, Caribbean)
  6. The OCF Champions League winners (Oceania)
  7. The Host Nation’s national league champions

Infantino stated that the new competition, which would consist of 32 teams and occur every four years, would be “like a World Cup” would include 32 teams. He said that more information like the precise structure, the participating clubs, and the venue for the 2025 debut event had not yet been formalised.

In addition, Infantino stated at his press conference that now the 2022 Club World Cup will be held in Morocco between the baffling dates of January 1 and February 11, 2023.

Real Madrid (UEFA), Flamengo (CONMEBOL), Wydad Casablanca (CAF), Seattle Sounders (CONCACAF), and Auckland City (OFC) are the qualified teams. Since Wydad Casablanca, the Moroccan champions, qualified as CAF Champions League winners, it is unclear which team will serve as the “hosts” and the AFC Champions League winners have not yet been announced.

Big changes are also occurring in international soccer, in addition to the club game. The calendar will change slightly starting in 2025, with an international break consisting of four matches in late September and early-October replacing two separate breaks, one of which was in each month.

The 2026 World Cup in the United States, Mexico, and Canada will be the first World Cup with 48 participating countries (again, the format hasn’t been confirmed; FIFA appears to be tossing between three-team and four-team groups).

News about more new tournaments that will happen in the future was also announced. The FIFA Women’s Club World Cup and FIFA Futsal Women’s World Cup will also be developed, in addition to the FIFA World Series, a friendly competition that would allow clubs from various confederations to compete against one another, which has been scheduled for even years.

For More stories, like, Which teams will play in the new club world cup? Click here

Follow us on Instagram and check out our YouTube channel to stay in touch with the latest happenings in football. What are your predictions for the World Cup?

Also please read:-

Scroll to Top